Question: “What do teenagers think is a reasonable, fair curfew?” – Chad, 29, OH

Answer: “I think a reasonable curfew is 10 on a school night, and 11 on weekends, with exceptions for special events. I think that if a teenager can follow those curfews responsibly, they should be rewarded with a pushed back curfew as well.” – Wendy, 15, OH

Answer: I would think that 10:30-11:00 would be a fair curfew, unless it is a special occasion for one of their friends like a birthday.”Kelly, 15, OH

Answer: “Each teen has a different opinion about their curfew times. In my personal opinion, on a school night for a freshman in high school or below, 9:30-10 would be a good time AS LONG AS THEIR HOMEWORK IS DONE BEFORE GOING OUT. On Friday and Saturday for that age group, I’d think about 10:30 or 11 depending on what their plans are, ie if they are going out to the movie theater with a group of friends that is trustworthy.
For your sons and daughters that are Sophomores and above, depending on their responsibility level, it should be 11 (which is the state curfew for 17 and below). If your son or daughter is 18+, I think that they should have more say of what their curfew is – especially if they have a car and a license. By that time, they should know how to take care of themselves (even though you may want them to know how =]). Ultimately, it’s your choice. You can say “if your under my roof, you follow my rules”. Most kids have heard that before… Whatever decision you end up making, make sure that they understand why instead of being blunt to them which may sound rude to them, making them angry, and losing respect for you.”
– Daniel, 18, OH

Answer: “I think this all depends on how much trust and responsibility they’ve earned. My parents don’t really care how long I’m out as long as they know where I am and who I’m with. Thats where the trust and responsibility comes in. If I just decided to randomly leave the house without telling them, I would definitely be in trouble and lose a lot of trust. If I was given a time to be back then I better be back by that time or I’ll lose some more trust. As far as an actual time goes, I think thats ultimately up to the parent to decide but I would say around 11.”Josh, 15, OH

Answer: “I think that 11 o’clock is a reasonable, fair curfew, but I think it should be somewhat flexible. For example, if the teenager is a few minutes past curfew I don’t think the parents should make a huge deal out of it, just so long as it’s not a significant amount of time. Also, if there are situations when it’s reasonable for a teen to be out past that curfew, I think parents should be understanding” Jeff, 17, OH

What do you think?

Question2: “What do teenagers think is a reasonable, fair curfew?

Answer: “I think a reasonable curfew is 10 on a school night, and 11 on weekends, with exceptions for special events. I think that if a teenager can follow those curfews responsibly, they should be rewarded with a pushed back curfew as well.” – Wendy, 15, OH

Answer: I would think that 10:30-11:00 would be a fair curfew, unless it is a special occasion for one of their friends like a birthday.”Kelly, 15, OH

