Question: “What do you think is a good (average or minimum) age for teenagers to start ‘dating’ or thinking seriously about being exclusive with a member of the opposite sex?” Do you feel like this could (be a distraction) get in the way of God’s, or any goals for your life if you do this too early?MCattLady, OH

Answer: “I think that the age everyone starts dating is different depending on your maturity level. I strongly believe in dating in preparation for marriage and to date a person would mean that you want to spend the rest of your life with him/her. I think that, yes, it could be a distraction, but there are many times when its a blessing from God. You just have to take a step back and take an Unbiased approach to the situation.”Marley, 16, MI

Answer: “When your child is able to come to you and be honest and open and communicate with you about his relationship (or her) with another person, I think that’s a good sign! I am 18 and started dating when I was 16 (with both our parents permission) and my relationship with this girl has actually got me closer in my relationship with God and has been someone who believes in my dreams and is helping me accomplish my goals right now. Now on the other hand, I know a lot of people who are older then me and still aren’t ready for a relationship. Honestly, it all depends on the maturity level on both of the teenagers. If you are talking about your own kids, I would just take a good hard look at them and ask yourself if you really think they could handle it..actually, ask them! Jef, 18, CA

Answer: “I recently attended a wedding of good friends of the family. They have been dating for 7 years and they started when they were both 15. I personally think that 15 is way to young…but it seemed to work for them. I guess it just goes to show that it depends on the people. Usually, most teenagers are stupid and can’t handle a relationship because they don’t know how to love or respect or communicate or care for and with one another. Some teenagers though, do know how to do this and I think those are the ones who will make it.” – Kathleeen, 15, OH

What do you think?

