Question: “My 15 year old daughter was recently asked to her school dance by one of the guys in her class. She is excited to go and really wants to, but I just feel like if I let her do this she’s going to start wanting to date and in today’s culture, dating has just become a make out party. I don’t want my daughter to be a part of that, but at the same time I don’t want my daughter to be over protected and miss out on life. What can I do?”Jeanette, 39, MI

Answer: “I think that you should let her date, but set up boundaries. If she breaks the boundary, then she should be punished. Even I, as a kid, would expect that. If you don’t let her date she will feel like you control her and that will make her want to rebel.” Dan, 14, OH

Answer: “Absolutely should you let her go! Being a 17 year old girl who has gone to many dances, those are some of the best times of my life! Your daughter will want to date and be asked out by guys and you have to trust that you’ve done your job as a parent and taught her to be smart with who she chooses. I think forcing your kid to not see any guy until their 18 is wrong is so many ways but don’t even get me started on that. I think the dance is fine and usually dances dont’ lead to dating and if it does then so be it! At least you know he’s man enough to actually ask her and not be a sissy and make the girl make the first move. That’s a very very good sign. God knows there needs to be more men that like today!” – JessicaJersey, 17, OH

Answer: “Jeanette, of course she should go! There’s nothing worse than a sheltering parent, it just makes kids fearful of the real world and when they experience it they just are lost and confused and don’t know where to turn. That’s why they should start young and have their head on their shoulders by the time their in college. I think you’re right, after she does go she will want to start dating but I think that’s pretty normal(?) and just be honest and talk to her about it! Don’t be secretive, say what you really feel and what you are concerned about and see what she has to say. Good luck, you’re a good mom!”Melly, 16, IL

What do you think?

